

בס״ד

PRESIDIUM

PRESIDENT Chief Rabbi Pinchas Goldschmidt

1st VICE PRESIDENT Chief Rabbi Haim Korsia

ASSOCIATE PRESIDENT Chief Rabbi Ephraim Mirvis

## THE RABBINICAL COURT OF EUROPE

Chief Rabbi Pinchas Goldschmidt Davan Menachem Gellev Rabbi Yakov Hotoveli Rabbi Raphael Evers Rabbi Moshe Lebel Rabbi Reuven Ohana Rabbi Yehia Teboul Rabbi Eliezer Wolff

CHAIR OF STANDING COMMITTEE Dayan Menachem Gelley

Deputy Chairman of the **Standing Committee** Chief Rabbi Shlomo Baksht Chief Rabbi Yitzchak Dayan

VICE PRESIDENTS Rabbi Avichai Apel Chief Rabbi Riccardo Di Segni Rabbi Moshe Lewin

MEMBERS OF PRESIDIUM Chief Rabbi Albert Guigui

**EXECUTIVE COUNCIL** 

Chief Rabbi Shlomo Baksht Rabbi Moshe Lebel Chief Rabbi Pinchas Goldschmidt Rabbi Nathan Shlomo Liss Chief Rabbi Dr Riccardo DiSegni Rabbi Avichai Apel

**RABBINICAL DIRECTOR** Rabbi Moshe Lebel

SECRETARY Rabbi Aharon Baskin

CHIEF OF STAFF TO THE PRESIDENT & **CEO. CER FOUNDATION** Gady Gronich

Tuesday, October 10, 2023

Urgent Appeal to our Distinguished Rabbis of European Communities,

We are writing to acknowledge our profound anguish and sadness following the unprecedented brutality of the evil terrorist attacks on innocent civilians across Israel. Our hearts are with our brethren in the Holy Land of Israel, who are in incomprehensible pain and distress in the face of the recent tragic events.

We are devastated by the mass murder and unfathomable scale of cruelty and inhumanity of the terrorists, who mercilessly and brutally slaughtered hundreds of our brothers in cold blood, leaving thousands severely injured and battling for their lives and took children, women, elderly people and soldiers hostage, abusing and torturing them barbarically.

How can we remain silent after witnessing the events that have unfolded? At this time, it is our utmost duty to cry out and storm the gates of heaven in prayer and plead to Hashem to save Am Yisrael. We are compelled to increase Torah learning and glorify Hashem's name, as these merits will serve our brethren in Israel and the soldiers defending our nation with tremendous devotion and bravery.

We strongly urge the rabbis of the communities and all European Jewry to gather in their Shuls and recite Tehillim chapters 91, 121 and 130 following every prayer.

Given the current situation, we kindly request that as community rabbis, you encourage and increase Torah learning among your communities by establishing new shiurim. In addition, the Conference of European Rabbis seeks to organise shiurim by prominent rabbanim and will provide you with further updates as soon as possible.

As we stand shoulder to shoulder with our brethren in Israel during this heartbreaking time, sharing their pain and anguish, we request the community rabbis in Europe inspire their communities to open their hearts, show support and raise much-needed funds to assist our soldiers and the many residents who were forced to flee from their homes in the South to safer places.

## "עת צרה היא ליעקב וממנה ייוושע"

May Hashem open the gates of heaven, hear our prayers, and bring peace for us and all the people of Israel.

On behalf of the Conference of European Rabbis

Chief Rabbi Pinchas Goldschmidt President

אלומבן אומי בבריה שאואי

Dayan Menachem Gelley Chairmen of CER Standing Committee

Rabbi Moshe Lebel **CER Rabbinical** Director

www.rabbiscer.org | info@rabbiscer.org | Headquarters: Frieda Street 3, 81479 Munich, Germany | Rue de la Régence 32, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium CER Conf. Of Eur. Rabbbis Stiftung | VR Bank Starnberg | IBAN: DE21 7009 3200 0002 1714 06 | BIC: GENODEF1STH | Registered Charitable Trust: UK NO: 271466 Countries Represented: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway,

Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom